Devil’s Advocates

DA-Let The Right on in cover v1.indd Auteur’s Devil’s Advocates is a series devoted to exploring the classics of horror cinema and is expanding all the time.

“The admirable Devil’s Advocates series is not only essential – and fun – reading for the serious horror fan but should be set texts on any genre course.” Dr I.Q. Hunter, Reader in Film Studies, De Montfort University Leicester

“Devil’s Advocates has proven itself more than capable of producing impassioned, intelligent analyses of genre cinema… quickly becoming the go-to guys for intelligent, easily digestible film criticism.”


The full list of available titles in below, in order of publication. Click on this link to go straight to the series page for more information.

Let the Right One In – Anne Billson (2011)

Witchfinder General – Ian Cooper (2011)

SAW – Benjamin Poole (2012)

The Texas Chain Saw Massacre – James Rose (2013)

The Descent – James Marriott (2013)

The Silence of the Lambs – Barry Forshaw (2013)

Carrie – Neil Mitchell (2013)

The Thing – Jez Conolly (2013)

Halloween – Murray Leeder (2014)

The Blair Witch Project – Peter Turner (2014)

Black Sunday – Martyn Conterio (2015)


Forthcoming 2015

The Curse of Frankenstein – Marcus K. Harmes

Antichrist – Amy Simmons

Dead of Night – Jez Conolly & David Owain Bates

Nosferatu – Cristina Massaccesi

Suspiria – Alexandra Heller-Nicholas



About John